Clubs that have held this cup:

1961 Northland Mini-Cart Club 

1966 Whangarei Amateur Kart Club

1971 Wellsford Amateur Go-Kart Club 

1972 North Shore Go Kart Club

1974 Whangarei Amateur Kart Club

 2009 KartSport Whangarei

2010 KartSport Whangarei

2011 KartSport Whangarei

2012 KartSport Eastern Bay Of Plenty

This historic cup was contested for between 1961 and 1974. At that time there were several dirt track racing circuits in Northland. Whangarei is the only club to survive from that era.

From 2009 through to 2012 this important cup from the past was used for the Club Sport 120 Class inter club challenge between KartSport Eastern Bay Of Plenty and KartSport Whangarei.


List of Names:

1968-70: M. Herman 

1971: R. Shaw

1972: G. Allen

1973-74: G. Ward 

1975: G. Trass 

1976: C. Cameron

1977: John Scott 

1978: M. Moselen

1979: N. Ball

1985-86: Murray McLean

1988: Mike Greenfield

1990: S. Johns

1994-96: Ashley Johnson 

1997: Rory Garden

1998: Richard Adams 

1999: Scott Harrison 

2000: Richard Adams 

Was first issued for Go-Kart Racing  in 1968 and was used up until 2000.

As at September 2010, it is not known what class of Kart was driven for the period from 1968 to 1979. Anyone with information on this please contact the Site's Webmaster. 

From 1985 to 1990 the class of kart was 125cc Gearbox. 

From 1994 to 2000 the trophy was awarded to the Midget Class Club Champions. After 2000 the trophy has not been awarded as the Midget Class no longer exists as a race class at Whangarei.


List of Names: 

1959-60: B. Schick  

1960-61: J. Chapman & C. Mansell

1961-62: J. Chapman

1967: R. Webb 

1968: M. Herman 

1969-70: G. Lewis 

1971: R. Shaw & B. McLean

1972: R. Shaw

1973-74: G. Ward

1975: R. Young

1976: D. Drake 

1977-78: M. Mathers

1979: P. Baines

1980: D. Ferris

1985: P. Roughton 

1986: R. McKay 

1987: D. Mouldey 

1988: J. Thorburn

1989: H. Bootten 

1990: J. Thorburn

1991: S. King

1994-95: S. Lowry

1996: S. King

1997: H. Brljevich 

1998: Richard Adams

1999: Dan Smith & Scott Harrison 

2000-02: Marcus Bullen

2003: Phillip Courtier

2004-2009 Not Issued

2010-11: Richard Macey

This cup has names shown from 1959 to 2011 for the club member that accumulated the most points in the year from competing at our race track.